

### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

November 10, 2017

Contact: Ellen R. Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

## **Biophysical Society Announces Speakers for 2018 Future of Biophysics Burroughs Wellcome Fund Symposium**

Rockville, MD— The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce the speakers for the Future of Biophysics Burroughs Wellcome Fund Symposium. Now in its ninth year and supported by supported by the Burroughs Wellcome Fund, the Symposium highlights exciting research by young investigators at the interface of the physical and life sciences. The Symposium will take place on Monday, February 19, 2018, at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, California, as part of the Biophysical Society's 62<sup>nd</sup> Annual Meeting.

The 20189 speakers and their talk titles for the Symposium are:

## Giulia Palermo, University of California, San Diego

Activation Mechanisms of CRISPR-Cas9 Revealed by Advanced Simulation Methods

## Anastasia Zhuravleva, University of Leeds, United Kingdom

Conformational and Functional Flexibility of the Molecular Chaperone BiP

## Schuyler Van Engelenberg, University of Denver

Pushing the Envelope: Toward a Nanoscale Model of HIV-1 Assembly

## Meytal Landau, The Technion-Israel Institute of Technology

New Structure-Activity Paradigms for Amyloids from Pathogenic **Microbes** 

Burroughs Wellcome Fund, a private foundation in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, supports researchers conducting interdisciplinary work between biology and physics.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Biophysical Society's Annual Meeting is the world's largest meeting of biophysicists over 6,000 attendees are expected. Over 3200 scientific abstracts have already been submitted for presentation at this event. For more information about the Meeting or the Society, visit http://www.biophysics.org or contact the Society at (240) 290-5600.

#### **OFFICERS**

#### President

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

#### President-Elect

Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

#### Past-President

Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

#### Secretary

Frances Separovic University of Melbourne

#### Treasurer

Kalina Hristova Johns Hopkins University

### **Executive Officer**

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

#### COUNCIL

Zev Bryant Iane Clarke Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Teresa Giraldez Ruben Gonzalez, Jr. Ruth Heidelberger Robert Nakamoto Arthur Palmer

Gabriela Popescu

Marina Ramirez-Alvarado Erin Sheets

**BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL** 

## Joanna Swain

Editor-in-Chief Jane Dyson

#### **COMMITTEE CHAIRS**

**Awards** 

Betsy Komives

**Early Careers** 

Bert Tanner

Education

Gina MacDonald

### **Finance**

Kalina Hristova

Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

### International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

## **Member Services**

Frances Separovic Membership

Juliette Lecomte

# **Nominating**

Art Palmer

**Professional Opportunities** 

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

## **Public Affairs**

Edward Egelman

### **Publications**

Olaf Anderson

### Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich